Why is Sync’n’Switch Important?

Email migration best practice demands that users have continuous access to their email. Not all approaches to email migration provide such continuous access, and are often invasive to the user. The full QUADROtech product set, including ArchiveShuttle, MailboxShuttle and EVStorageMigrator use a “Synch’n’Switch” approach. By uncoupling data synchronization from the user migration QUADROtech products guarantee users are not interrupted while their email is migrated from one instance of Veritas Enterprise Vault to Microsoft Office 365 or another Veritas Enterprise Vault system.

What benefits does Sync’n’Switch give me?

  • Seamless user migration, removing any downtime or user inconvenience
  • Data migrated in the background prior to the actual user switch taking place
  • No ‘wait times’ for users being moved from Source to Target
  • Full Reporting and Monitoring via the QUADROtech Product Suite

How does Sync’n’Switch work?

In short, Sync’n’Switch is a two stage process.

Firstly, users’ archived emails are Synchronized to the target in the background without impacting the ability to work and access archived emails as usual. Daily deltas are recognized and synchronized continuously so that at the point where the user migration itself takes place (the switch) the user has access to both the new and original source data.

Secondly, users are then Switched to the target system seamlessly, completing the migration process.

What exactly does the Stage 1 (Sync) do?

Stage 1 includes the initial synchronization, as well as continual delta/incremental changes being synchronized prior to the actual Switch (Stage 2) being performed.

How is Stage 2 (the Switch) initiated?

Stage 2 can be initiated either manually, or using an Active Directory trigger (for example, when a mailbox is moved to a target Exchange Server or Office 365, ArchiveShuttle could be configured to initiate a Switch of the user to the target archive).

What does Stage 2 (the Switch) actually do?

Stage 2 is responsible for disabling the source archive for one or more users, validating the final deltas or incremental of data have been migrated, enabling the user on the target, cleaning up the mailbox, and optionally deleting the source archive. All completely seamlessly, without the user being aware of the switch or migration taking place.